GVCA Athletics

GVCA-2749.jpg

EXTRA-CURRICULARS

Athletics

Athletics Philosophy

Golden View Classical Academy encourages students, families, and faculty to pursue the core virtues of our school.  Our core virtues form the basis for the philosophy behind all athletic endeavors at Golden View Classical. We will compete to the best of our ability, striving to attain virtue, knowledge, and happiness. Golden View Classical Academy recognizes that athletic teams enhance the atmosphere of the student body, providing students, parents, and faculty with the opportunity to express school spirit and build community. Athletic competition inspires and elevates the minds and characters of those who compete and those who watch. Therefore, all members of the Golden View Classical family can support the athletic program in a variety of ways, including coaching, transportation, and attending events. A successful program is a demonstration of the entire school working together.

Athletics will provide a vehicle in which to teach student-athletes to become virtuous citizens. Golden View Classical will maintain proper management of a community in which every individual recognizes his or her particular role and performs his or her own task as part of a properly functioning community. Students and coaches will set goals and adhere to them even when faced with obstacles. Students will learn that sport requires courage. The spirit of sport is challenge: the greater the challenge, the greater the victory. During competition, student athletes must remain courteous and honest. They must retain the ability to treat others with honor and civility as well as enjoying the game for its own sake, with proper consideration for fairness, ethics, and respect. By doing so, we will adhere to all governing organizations’ rules and regulations. Student-athletes will also become students of the game in which they are participating. They will gain a life-long appreciation for the game as well as learn how to set and assess realistic goals.

In order to participate in a sport at Golden View, students must turn in the following: a physical, sport fee (varies depending on the sport), participation contract, and any paperwork specifically required by the coach.

Cross Country

High School (grades 9-12) - Mrs. Gilmore - agilmore@goldenviewclassical.org
Middle School (grades 6-8) - Mrs. Piaskowy - kpiaskowy@goldenviewclassical.org

Volleyball

High School (grades 9-12) - Mrs. Smith - csmith@goldenviewclassical.org
Middle School (grades 6-8) - Ms. Carrier - dcarrier@goldenviewclassical.org

Basketball

High School (grades 9-12)
Boys Coach: Mr. Hitch - jhitch@goldenviewclassical.org
Girls Coach: Mrs. Day - sarahhatchdu@gmail.com

Middle School (grades 6-8)
Boys Coach: Mr. Chacon - cchacon@goldenviewclassical.org
Girls Coach: Ms. Genereux - mgenereux@goldenviewclassical.org

Wrestling Club

Grades 5-12 - Mr. Summers - msummers@goldenviewclassical.org

Track and Field

High School (grades 9-12) - Mr. Gilmore - dgilmore@goldenviewclassical.org
Middle School (grades 6-8) - Ms. McLaughlin - amclaughlin@goldenviewclassical.org


Students may participate in athletics at another school if Golden View Classical Academy does not offer that sport.

IMG-800x800Block-Blue.png

Golden View Athletics Calendar